There are times when you want to post a comment and notify everyone in the thread, but there are other times when you write a comment only directed at a few people. In those cases, you can choose to notify only the specific team members or groups you choose.
Watch the video below or read on to learn how it works:
Notify specific team members or groups
Whenever you create a thread or comment, you can simply select the individual or group's name from the list to notify them. When you notify them, your new comment will show up in their Inbox as unread.
How to notify individual team members
To notify individual team members, just type out and choose their names from the drop-down list, and they'll be added to the notify list.
How to notify groups
To notify groups, simply choose the group from the drop-down list under notify. Then post your comment as usual to notify them.
How notifying works
Let’s say you want to check in with a designer about the new icon she’s using. You can post a comment in your Design discussion thread, and choose to notify only her. Your comment will be posted to the thread and it will be sent to her Inbox.
Other members in the thread will not be notified about your comment, but they will be able to see it when they revisit the thread later. By only notifying the designer, you avoided overloading their Inboxes with notifications that are not pertinent to them specifically.
You can also notify a group. When you post a comment and notify a group, only the people in the group will be notified as opposed to everyone in the thread. In the example above, you could also notify the "Brand Designers" group and the comment would be sent to each of their Inboxes.
You can also notify everyone in the channel or everyone in the thread, which is useful for larger points within a discussion.