Loading the new Help Center
Loading the Help Center

Archive or unarchive a channel

Archiving outdated channels helps you better organize and visualize active and inactive channels. When you archive a channel, it will no longer appear in your Channels list.

Only team admins and channel owners can unarchive channels at any time. Team members can still visit an archived channel, but won’t be able to make any changes or updates to threads in that channel.

How to archive a channel

  1. Open a channel.
  2. Click on the three dots icon to the right of the channel's name. 
  3. Click Archive channel.
  4. A confirmation will ask if you’re sure you want to archive the channel. Click Archive.
  1. Open a channel.
  2. Tap the three dots icon in the top-right corner.
  3. Tap Archive channel.
  4. A confirmation will ask if you’re sure you want to archive the channel. Tap Archive.
    1. Open a channel.
    2. Tap the channel title at the top left.
    3. Tap Archive Channel.
    4. A confirmation will ask if you’re sure you want to archive the channel. Tap Archive.
If your iOS device is using version iOS 13 or above, you can also use the channel's context menu to archive it.
You can not archive the general channel that is created along with the team. Read more about the general channel here.

How to unarchive a channel

If a topic becomes relevant again, or if you need to resurface old conversations, you can easily unarchive a channel. This will bring an archived channel back into your active Channels list.

  1. Scroll to the bottom on the channel list and click Archived Channels.
  2. The archived channels will display beneath the Archived Channels title. Find the channel you’d like to unarchive and click it.
  3. Click the Unarchive button, or click the three dots in the top right and select Unarchive Channel.
  4. A confirmation will ask if you’re sure you want to unarchive the channel. Click Unarchive.
  1. Scroll down the channels list to the bottom. Tap Add Channel.
  2. Scroll to the bottom of the channels list to find Archived channels.
  3. Scroll through the Archived channels section and tap the archived channel you’d like to unarchive.
  4. Tap the Unarchive Channel button at the bottom of the screen.
  5. A confirmation will ask if you’re sure you want to unarchive the channel. Tap Unarchive.
    1. In the Threads view, scroll to the bottom.
    2. Tap Archived Channels.
    3. Find the channel you would like to unarchive, and tap it.
    4. At the bottom of the threads list, tap Unarchive Channel.
    5. A confirmation will ask if you’re sure you want to unarchive the channel. Tap Unarchive.
If your iOS device is using version iOS 13 or above, you can also use the channel's context menu to unarchive it.