Loading the new Help Center
Loading the Help Center

Public and private channels

What's the difference between public and private channels?

There are two types of channels: public and private. 

A public channel is viewable to anybody on your team. They can see the channel when they browse channels, and they can join the channel if they feel that the topic is relevant to them. Public channels are those with a hashtag (#) in the title.

A private channel is only visible to the specific members of that channel– it will not appear in the list of a team’s browseable channels. Private channels are those with a padlock icon in the title.

How to change a channel to public or private

If you decide that a set of discussions is better kept private, or if you’d like to open up previously private discussions to the rest of your team, you can easily change the privacy settings of your Twist channels. Here’s how.

  1. In your channel list, hover over a channel’s name and click on the three dots icon.
  2. Select Edit Channel.
  3. Click the Edit Channel button.
  4. Select either Public or Private from the Privacy drop-down menu.
  5. Click Save.
  1. Open a channel.
  2. Tap the three dots icon in the top-right corner.
  3. Tap Channel info.
  4. At the top right, tap the pencil icon.
  5. Tap Public or Private.
  6. Tap Save.
  1. Open a channel.
  2. Tap the channel name at the top.
  3. At the top right, tap Edit.
  4. Tap Public or Private.
  5. Tap Save.