Close a thread

After a conversation reaches its conclusion, close the thread to let everybody know it's finished. People will be able to see the thread’s conclusion at a glance, and can then move to focus on active topics. Your Twist stays organized and updated, while also growing as a central knowledge base of team decisions.

Here's how to close a thread:

  1. Open a thread.
  2. At the top right, click on the three dots icon.
  3. Select Close Thread.
  4. (Optional) Write a short conclusion in the confirmation window.
  5. Click Close thread.

Web_-_Closed_Thread_with_conclusion.png

  1. Open the thread.
  2. At the bottom right, tap on the three dots icon.
  3. Select Close Thread.
  4. (Optional) Write a short conclusion.
  5. Tap Done to close the thread.

closeathread_ios_01.png

  1. Open the thread.
  2. At the top right, tap on the three dots icon.
  3. Select Close thread.
  4. (Optional) Write a short conclusion.
  5. Tap Close Thread.

closeathread_android_01.png

Closed threads are not archived and will remain easily accessible - both in the channel and in your Inbox.

Add a conclusion

You can add an optional conclusion while closing the thread. This helps to provide context for others and keeps documentation transparent. Write a conclusion to explain the outcome of the thread and that the discussion is now closed. The conclusion will be posted as a comment in the thread after closing it.

Reopen a thread

Threads can be reopened at any time, by any channel member. This is useful for revisiting older discussions that have become relevant again. Alternatively, if a team member forgot to add their final two cents, they can reopen the thread, post a comment, and re-close the thread.

Once a thread is reopened, it becomes active and the discussion can continue. A message will be displayed to indicate the thread’s reopened state.

  1. Open the thread.
  2. Click Comment to reopen.
  3. Share why you’ve reopened the thread and click Post.
  1. Open the thread.
  2. Tap Comment to reopen.
  3. Share why you’ve reopened the thread and tap the send icon.

FAQ

Q: What happens to closed threads in channels?

A: Closed threads will be marked with a green banner and/or checkmark. This way team members can instantly distinguish them from active discussions in the channel.

Q: Who can close a thread?

A: Anyone can close a thread as long as they’re a member of the channel.

Q: Who can reopen a thread?

A: Anyone can reopen a thread as long as they’re a member of the channel. Once a comment has been posted to reopen the thread, team members who’ve been selected in the notify field will be notified.

Q: Why do I have to add a comment after I reopened a thread?

A: Adding a comment is required to let your teammates know the reason why the thread has been reopened. This way the discussion can continue in a more productive way.

Q: Can anyone edit the conclusion of a thread?

A: No, only the person who closed the thread can edit the conclusion.

Q: Is it possible to delete the conclusion of a thread?

A: Yes, but only the person who closed the thread can do so. When a conclusion is deleted, it will be replaced by the text “This comment was deleted”. The thread will remain closed.

Q: What can I include in a conclusion?

A: Just like with regular comments, you can add attachments, media, files, @mention someone, and more. However, you can’t select who will be notified when posting the conclusion. Everyone following the thread will automatically be notified when it’s closed.

Q: Can I hide closed threads from the inbox or channels?

A: No. For now, all closed threads are kept visible to ensure transparency of discussions for all team members.

Q: Can I search for closed threads?

A: Yes! You certainly can. When a closed thread appears in your search results, it will be indicated with a green banner and/or a green checkmark. If you are on a Free plan and the thread is older than 30 days, it will not be displayed in your search results.

For now, it’s not possible to filter your search for closed threads.

Q: Can a closed thread be moved to another channel?

A: Yes. A closed thread can be moved to another channel by its creator or any team admin(s). Moving a thread will not reopen it.

Q: Can I edit the subject of a closed thread?

A: Yes. The thread will remain closed and a message will be displayed that its subject has been changed.

Q: Can I forward an email to a closed thread?

A: Yes. This will automatically reopen the thread.

Q: What happens to integrations when a thread is closed or reopened?

A: Any integration that posts content to the thread will automatically be paused once it is closed. You can check any paused integrations via your team’s integrations page.

If the thread is reopened, the integration will be reactivated as well.

Q: Can I add integrations to a closed thread?

A: No. The thread needs to be reopened first in order for you to add integrations.

Q: My team is on a Free plan. What happens to a closed thread after 30 days?

A: The thread will no longer be accessible after 30 days of closing it. Just like any other thread, its content will safely be stored on our servers, but it won’t be visible to anyone in your team. If you choose to upgrade to Twist Unlimited, your closed threads will become visible again and accessible via the channel and inbox.