Using context menus with Twist

You can only use context menus if you have an iOS device with software version iOS 13 or above.

Context menus were introduced by Apple in iOS 13 as a way to make it easier and quicker for users to edit items. All you have to do is long-press an item on your iOS device and several quick actions will pop up.

Here’s an overview of all context menus we’ve introduced in the Twist iOS app:

Channels

Long-press the channel you wish to edit in order to open the context menu. A menu will pop up with the following options:

  • Edit Channel lets you edit the selected channel.
  • Get Link to Channel copies the channel’s link to your clipboard.
  • Archive Channel moves the channel to your archive. This option will only appear if you’re the channel owner or the team admin. 
  • Leave Channel lets you leave the channel. 
  • Delete Channel deletes the selected channel. You’ll only see this option if the channel’s already archived.

Threads

Long-press the thread you wish to edit in order to open the context menu. A menu will pop up with the following options:

  • Mark as Read lets you mark a thread as read. If the thread’s already read, you’ll see the option Mark as Unread instead.
  • Star Thread stars the selected thread. If the thread’s already starred, you’ll see the option Unstar Thread instead.
  • Move Thread lets you move the thread to another channel. This option will only appear if you’re the thread owner or a team admin.
  • Add to Todoist adds the selected thread as a task in Todoist.
  • Copy Link to Thread copies the thread’s link to your clipboard.
  • Delete Thread deletes the selected thread. You’ll only see this option if you’re the thread owner or a team admin.

Messages

Long-press the message you wish to edit in order to open the context menu. A menu will pop up with the following options:

  • Mark as Read marks the selected message as read. If the message is already marked as read, you’ll see the option Mark as Unread instead.
  • Mute lets you mute the selected message for a given period of time.
  • Archive Message archives the selected message. If the message has already been archived, you’ll see the option Unarchive Message instead.
If you're using a mouse or a trackpad with an iPad (with software version iPadOS 13.4 or above), you’ll also be able to open context menus by right-clicking on a channel, thread, or message.