Loading the new Help Center
Loading the Help Center

How to set default participants for a channel

Only the channel creator or team admins can set default participants for a channel.

Do your teammates (yourself included) sometimes tag too many people in new threads? Do you find yourself tagging the same group of people for most threads in a particular channel?

If so, you might find it helpful to set default participants for your channel! You’ll be able to help make sure that the right people get tagged and reduce noise for the rest of your team.

While default participants will be automatically added to the Tag field of new threads, you can edit this field before posting!

How to set default participants when creating a channel

  1. Follow the steps for creating a channel.
  2. At the last step, before clicking Create, you’ll have the option to set default participants for the channel. You can choose between:
  • Everyone in channel: Tag everyone in the channel when anyone creates a new thread.
  • Custom default participants: Tag specific teammates or groups when anyone creates a new thread.
  1. Follow the steps for creating a channel
  2. At the last step, before tapping Create, you’ll have the option to set default participants for the channel. You can choose between:
  • Everyone in channel: Tag everyone in the channel when anyone creates a new thread.
  • Custom default participants: Tag specific teammates or groups when anyone creates a new thread.
  1. Follow the steps for creating a channel
  2. At the last step, before tapping Create, you’ll have the option to set default participants for the channel. You can choose between:
  • Everyone in channel: Tag everyone in the channel when anyone creates a new thread.
  • Custom default participants: Tag specific teammates or groups when anyone creates a new thread.

How to edit default participants for an existing channel

  1. Hover over the channel you want to set default participants for.
    1. Click the three dots icon that appears to the right of the channel’s title.
    2. Click Edit channel…
    3. You can now choose between:
  • Everyone in channel: Tag everyone in the channel when anyone creates a new thread.
  • Custom default participants: Tag specific teammates or groups when anyone creates a new thread.
    1. Open the channel.
    2. Tap the channel title at the top of the screen.
    3. Edit default participants by tapping the currently chosen option listed under Default Participants (it will either say Everyone in channel or Default participants).
    4. You will now have two options:
  • Everyone in channel: Tag everyone in the channel when anyone creates a new thread.
  • Custom default participants: Tag specific teammates or groups when anyone creates a new thread.
  1. Open the channel.
  2. Tap the three dots icon to the right of the channel.
  3. Tap Channel Info.
  4. Tap Set default participants.
  • Everyone in channel: Tag everyone in the channel when anyone creates a new thread.
  • Custom default participants: Tag specific teammates or groups when anyone creates a new thread. If you select Custom default participants, tap Manage participants to add or remove participants.